According to the director, the underlying theme behind the series is ŌĆśthe intolerance of uncertainty that places people at their own hell.ŌĆÖ Yeon said, ŌĆ£The most important message that I wanted to deliver through this work is asking questions on humanity and what it means to be a human.ŌĆØ He further added, ŌĆ£The series begins as people encounter an unexplainable supernatural phenomenon. I wanted to wrap up the series by showing one of the most incomprehensible and unreasonable acts of will that a person can exhibit ŌĆō self-sacrifice.ŌĆØ

He also answered why he only saved the newborn child of Bae Young Jae (Park Jung-min) and Song So Hyun (Won Jin Ah). ŌĆ£I have a child of my own, and I often become emotional when I watch kids on TV. You know how children can be made happy even with the smallest gifts. If a society fails to appreciate those children in our lives, then the society is ill and not sustainable for human welfare. By showing the newborn child at the end, I wanted to offer a surprising glimpse of hope that may lead them to a better world.ŌĆØ Meanwhile, Hellbound is maintaining its No. 1 standing on FlixPatrolŌĆÖs global top 10 list for nine consecutive days.

Source (1)

 Hellbound  Director Explains the Cliffhanger Ending to His Latest Netflix Series - 85 Hellbound  Director Explains the Cliffhanger Ending to His Latest Netflix Series - 68