Jaejae said, ŌĆ£Many fans are dying to watch Moon Lovers Season 2, but I heard itŌĆÖs impossible to renew the show with the original cast now.ŌĆØ In response, Lee Joon Gi shared, ŌĆ£I want a second season to the show just like everyone else does. There were, in fact, some conversations regarding the renewal.ŌĆØ

The actor also talked about the original ending scene of his 2016 series with IU. He said, ŌĆ£We actually filmed the scene of Hae Soo (played by IU) reuniting with Wang So in the present day. I remember wearing a suit while filming the scene. So, it goes like this: I would approach her to give her a handkerchief. SheŌĆÖd look at me, who remembers nothing. Then, IŌĆÖd smile back at her.ŌĆØ The star added, ŌĆ£I think the director had put a lot of effort into creating an ending that would leave an impact on the viewers. He had put a lot of thought into it, whether the show should have a tragic end or a beautiful and hopeful conclusion. I think the director knew that he wouldnŌĆÖt be satisfied no matter which ending he chose. So I think he went with the first idea, which would leave viewers in tears. To be honest, I thought the original ending would be included on the Blu-ray, but it wasnŌĆÖt.ŌĆØ Source (1)

Lee Joon Gi Reveals Original Ending to  Moon Lovers  Scarlet Heart Ryeo  - 62